woensdag 15 mei 2013

The Sound of Music

 
Hi everybody!

Melvin here, back for his second Xform blog. This time I'm going to tell you kids about the creation of music in games, with a small part of history in game music.
All games authoring software support wav. Most of them also support pre-compressed audio files, such as mp3 and ogg vorbis. UDK however only imports 16 bit WAV files, but compresses them internally using OGG compression with the ability to tweak the quality/size ration. Unity3D on the other hand almost imports all audio imaginable and also has the built-in option to compress audio files (OGG) with quality options.
When considering music one of the first question you'll have to ask yourself is:
What do you want to do with your music?
Do you just want background music, which plays and loops till the next level start? In that case we're talking about linear music. Next to studio recordings of music with real vocalists and musicians, we also have music created with DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) software such as Logic Pro, Propellerhead Reason, Ableton Live, FL Studio. And it's somehow still more obvious in the gaming industry than using recordings. I myself am a big fan of Propellerhead Reason.
 
I've been using it for 12 years now and all the music I composed for Xform are created with Reason, including the first Burnin' Rubber (2006) track "Alpha Beta", which was remixed for Burnin' Rubber 2 in 2008. This definite version is also heard in the latest, Burnin' Rubber 5.
 



 
Before Reason, I used Fasttracker 2, a tracker program for DOS to make music modules (mod). Mod was a format that originated from the demo scene in late eighties. Next to MIDI this was a format that was frequently used in games because the files were very small yet relatively high in fidelity, until mp3 compression became popular. Other games used music that was on the audio section of the CD-ROM. 
Interactive soundtrack
Do you want more complex event triggered music. Layers of sound fading in and out. Or seamlessly cross fade between a level soundtrack and a boss soundtrack? In that case it's possible you'll be composing something that will never sound the way you initially created it, because the player is semi in charge of the composition.
All major engines (Unreal 3, CryEngine and Unity3D) have FMOD integration. FMOD is middleware for managing interactive sound and music. I haven't done much with it myself. And here at Xform most of the music composed here is for linear use. If there is a demand for interactive music at Xform I'd probably check FMOD out, because of the integration in Unity3D. Other interactive sound middleware are for example Miles from Rad Game Tools and Audiokinetic Wwise.
The only project where I created an interactive soundtrack was my own graduation game project back in 2005. I composed the song in Reason, then chopped it in segments and used these segments in a tracker (see Fasttracker 2 above) to create a mod with 52 separate channels. Events in the game activated or deactivated channels, which resulted in a varied soundtrack consisting of a nice blend of instruments. This is one of the simplest form of interactive music, which is also used in classics such as Super Mario World (when Mario rides on Yoshi's back).
In my next blog I'm going to write about composing in Reason and you'll be hearing music excerpts of a new Xform game.
Till next time!
Melvin

16 opmerkingen:

  1. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It's the little changes that will make the greatest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

    Here is my web site - free homemade porn

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  2. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This article posted
    at this website is really pleasant.

    Feel free to surf to my blog :: www.welt-verzeichnis.de

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  3. Wow, this article is pleasant, my sister is analyzing these things, so I am going
    to let know her.

    Feel free to surf to my blog post; Viarex review

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  4. Xform, please make burnin rubber 6! (only if you want)

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  5. You have a real ability for writing unique content. I like how you think and the way you represent your views in this article. I agree with your way of thinking. Thank you for sharing.
    unblocked games| unblocked games at school| unblocked games| friv4school| friv for school| friv games| frivgames| kizi2| kizi 2
    unblockedgames| unblocked games at school| friv 4 school| friv4school| free online games| free online games| jogos da barbie| kizi

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  6. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It's the little changes that will make the greatest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!happy wheels
    super mario bros
    pacman
    agario

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  7. Big Farm

    Big Farm is an awesome multiplayer farm management game made by the Goodgame Studios.
    Your mission is simple: Create a big farm, grow crops, breed animals,
    and become the richest farmer of the universe. Enjoy Goodgame's Big Farm!

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  8. Welcomes to google terminal keep sharing such ideas in the future as well.
    google snake this was actually EARN TO DIE
    what i was looking for,and i am glad to came here! AGE OF WAR 2
    Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for a while HAPPY WHEELS
    I want you to thank for your time of this wonderful read!!! Slitherio
    Amazing insight you have on this, Slither io This article always blew me BIG FARM

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  9. With a Hotmail account, you can send and receive emails quickly and easily as well as login and use all Microsoft services.
    hotmail login | sign in to hotmail | recover hotmail password
    This is the game so players feel very fierce , adventurous . You try to join and play this game , you will feel great like.
    strike force heroes | strike force heroes 4
    happy wheels | tank trouble 2 | slitherio
    gun mayhem 2 | age of war | can your pet

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  10. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  11. Congratulations! this blog is very interesting and has information most important we invite you to visit our blog
    happy wheels | friv | happy wheels | girlsgogames | games2girls | happy wheels 2

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen